Categories

Archives listed by category

34c3

Sun 31 December 2017
Comments
34C3: Day Four

Wherein Congress ends and a house burns down

Sat 30 December 2017
Comments
34C3: Day Three

Wherein I continue to enjoy translating and spend some awesome hours with friends

Fri 29 December 2017
Comments
34C3: Day Two

Wherein I translate some more and still spend a lot of time working to get the translations out to the world

Thu 28 December 2017
Comments
34C3: Day One

Wherein I do two translations and spend a lot of time working to get the translations out to the world

Wed 27 December 2017
Comments
34C3: Day Zero

Wherein I arrive in Leipzig, after a fun train ride, and get organised

Book reviews

Thu 22 February 2018
Comments
Welcome to Night Vale

I read Welcome to Night Vale and finally get back to doing more reading

Mon 29 January 2018
Comments
Nine Princes in Amber

I read Nine Princes in Amber, the first book of the Chronicles of Amber

Thu 03 August 2017
Comments
Neuromancer

I read Neuromancer, the defining Cyberpunk book

Tue 17 January 2017
Comments
Aranmanoth and Book Bingo

I finish reading Aranmanoth, and check of the first field in my book bingo

Thu 08 December 2016
Comments
The Long Cosmos

I read The Long Cosmos by Terry Pratchett and Stephen Baxter

Fri 28 October 2016
Comments
Wild Cards II: Aces High

I read Wild Cards II: Aces High, a compilation of stories edited by George R. R. Martin

Mon 19 September 2016
Comments
The Demi-Monde: Fall

I read The Demi-Monde: Fall by Rod Rees

Thu 15 September 2016
Comments
The Demi-Monde: Summer

I read The Demi-Monde: Summer by Rod Rees

Sat 10 September 2016
Comments
The Demi-Monde: Spring

I read The Demi-Monde: Spring by Rod Rees

Thu 01 September 2016
Comments
The Demi-Monde: Winter

I read The Demi-Monde: Winter by Rod Rees

Sat 27 August 2016
Comments
The Long Utopia

I read The Long Utopia by Terry Pratchett and Stephen Baxter

Dungeon fantasy

Sun 06 May 2018
Comments
Session One of the Dungeon Fantasy RPG Campaign

We played our first session of DFRPG, using You All Meet At An Inn.

Wed 25 April 2018
Comments
Beginning a new campaign with the DFRPG

I get ready to run my first online campaign, using the Dungeon Fantasy RPG.

Fitness

Mon 06 February 2017
Comments
Progress January '17

I use my bike a lot more than I thought but it's still not enough

Wed 21 December 2016
Comments
Progress October and November '16

My weight loss has stagnated, likely because of reduced time to work out.

Thu 06 October 2016
Comments
Progress at the End of September

My weight loss slowed down, but that just motivated me to redouble my efforts.

Sun 04 September 2016
Comments
Progress at the End of August

I lost some weight, but it's only a start

Fri 26 August 2016
Comments
Cardio

In which I go to the gym and lose a lot of sweat.

General

Thu 25 August 2016
Comments
Hello World

First post and introduction

Gurps

Mon 27 February 2017
Comments
Swiss-Sided Dice: A new Podcast

I started a podcast with my GURPS group

Mon 09 January 2017
Comments
Dust Session Four

I played in the fourth session of the Dust campaign

Sun 08 January 2017
Comments
Dust Session Three

I played in the third session of the Dust campaign

Mon 26 December 2016
Comments
My GURPS Year in Review

What did I do with GURPS this year?

Thu 01 December 2016
Comments
Z├╝rich GURPSified

I had fun statting out Basel for GURPS City Stats, and it doesn't hurt to have more ready-made locations, so here goes Zurich!

Mon 28 November 2016
Comments
Community - Basel GURPSified

For the GURPSosphere's community, I take a shot at translating a real world location to GURPS city stats.

Mon 28 November 2016
Comments
Dust - Session Two

I played in the second session of the Dust campaign

Mon 14 November 2016
Comments
Dust - Session Two - Debrief

I look back at the second session of the campaign I play in.

Tue 08 November 2016
Comments
Idle Musings on multiple Systems of Magic

I'm reading RPM at the moment and that prompted a few thoughts about a setting in which multiple forms of magic coexist

Fri 28 October 2016
Comments
Blog or Treat: The Pack Hound

For Halloween I try to create a scary monster and learn how to create Powers in GURPS

Mon 03 October 2016
Comments
Dust - Session One - Debrief

I look back at the first session and draw some lessons.

Tue 27 September 2016
Comments
Dust - Session One

I played in the first session of the Dust campaign

Mon 19 September 2016
Comments
Ibram Garro - My new GURPS character

I get to play in a short GURPS campaign and present my character for that campaign

Hugo awards 17

Wed 26 July 2017
Comments
Hugo Awards - Best Novel

I read the entries in the Best Novel category

Sun 09 July 2017
Comments
Hugo Awards - Best Novella

I read the entries in the Best Novella category

Fri 16 June 2017
Comments
Hugo Awards - Best Novelette

I read the entries in the Best Novelettes category

Thu 08 June 2017
Comments
Hugo Awards - Best Short Story

I read the entries in the Best Short Story category

Fri 02 June 2017
Comments
Hugo Awards - Best Graphic Story

I read the entries in the Best Graphic Story category

Mon 29 May 2017
Comments
Hugo Awards - Overview

I will be going to WorldCon and voting in the Hugo Awards

Legend of the five rings

Thu 06 April 2017
Comments
L5R One-Shot Part 2

Second part of our Legend of the Five Rings one-shot adventure

Mon 06 March 2017
Comments
L5R One-Shot Part 1

Between GURPS campaigns, we do some one-shots, in this case Legend of the Five Rings

Nerdery

Fri 12 May 2017
Comments
Fantasy Basel, running games at a Convention

I ran a bunch of GURPS sessions at a local convention

Sat 31 December 2016
Comments
33C3: Day Four

Last day! It's another people-day as I say goodbye to everyone and attempt to keep some connections going

Fri 30 December 2016
Comments
33C3: Day Three

It's my people-day and it's awesome

Thu 29 December 2016
Comments
33C3: Day Two

More great talks, a plot twist and lots of fun

Wed 28 December 2016
Comments
33C3: Day One

CCC kicks off, I translate and fun is had

Tue 27 December 2016
Comments
33C3: Day Zero

Wherein I arrive and get settled in, trying to become an angel

Tue 27 September 2016
Comments
Feeds, Specs and Patching Software

I changed the way feeds are generated for my blog by shoving a future improvement to Pelican into my installed copy of it

Thu 22 September 2016
Comments
On Footnotes

I improved how footnotes work and learned a bit about touch events

Thu 08 September 2016
Comments
Skills Not Found

In which I talk about my skills as a programmer and how I intend to improve.

Podcast

Mon 20 March 2017
Comments
Setting up a podcast

I started a podcast, let's talk about how to do that.

World-building

Mon 07 November 2016
Comments
Iemanki - Religions and Organizations

I work out how Iemanki is organized - in worship as well as apart from it

Thu 13 October 2016
Comments
Iemanki - History and Nations, first draft

First draft of the world of Iemanki, focused on history and countries

Thu 13 October 2016
Comments
New series - creating worlds

I begin a new series of blog posts and explain why

Worldcon '17

Sat 19 August 2017
Comments
Worldcon 75 Helsinki: Day Five

On which I don't want to leave, but still see a bunch of cool panels

Fri 18 August 2017
Comments
Worldcon 75 Helsinki: Day Four

On which I learn tips to improve my con reports and see another hilarious panel

Fri 18 August 2017
Comments
Worldcon 75 Helsinki: Day Three

On which I learn a lot about Asian Fandoms and attend a thoroughly impressive Award Ceremony

Fri 11 August 2017
Comments
Worldcon 75 Helsinki: Day Two

Wherein I see some awesome panels and far fewer queues

Thu 10 August 2017
Comments
Worldcon 75 Helsinki: Day One

Wherein I see some awesome panels and long, long queues

Wed 09 August 2017
Comments
Worldcon 75 Helsinki: Day Zero

Wherein I leave some seriously cute puppies to go to Worldcon